The original feudal hill was built in 928 by Sifrid Le Danois (founder of the dynasty of the Counts of Guînes) to insure the defense of the city of Guînes.
On this sod were successively built a keep, then a fortified manor house, where a clock and a bell were installed between 1630 and 1634 to give the hours to the whole city and the field workers.
From the sixteenth century until the practical application of the Edict of Marly in 1765, Guines administratively and judicially depends on Calais. This situation is not really tolerated by the notable inhabitants of Guînes who aspire to local independence. The construction of the Tour de l’Horloge in 1763, financed by Pierre Lenoir, is a clear sign of this desire for autonomy.
An interpretation centre
A space has been recently entirely dedicated to the History of the city of Guînes. This playful interpretive centre took place at the bottom of the Tour de l’Horloge. Here you will discover the origins of the city, its medieval greatness as well as the famous Field of cloth of gold.